In The Presence Of Enemies Part I

There are some basic rule that you need to learn when you want to start living in the world instead of just going around with the crowd. For one you need to know how to behave IN THE PRESENCE OF ENEMIES. This is something I have never learnt. Every time I get into a tough spot and somehow manage to find a way out of it I’m happy for sometime. But as i recount my actions within myself or to somebody else I find that there is a much better way or actually getting out of the problem than the method I have followed. Now all this going around the problem and past it makes me want to take the tiger comparison again. But I will refrain from doing so. Then I would become like one of those boring bollywood music directors who have run out of ideas so much that they either copy music or try and change a scale in their previous number to derive the current one. Well lets get back to the topic, one other trait I have not learnt is how to avoid embarrassing questions. Now that I have a new job( that I will be shortly joining) everybody I meet keeps asking me the same question in different ways. The stereotypical rocker of pondicherry asked me “How much bread da??” “What will you do with it??”. One of my friend’s mum who’s a bit old ย and inquisitive asked me “Masathuku evalo thara??”.There are shrewder guys I have met. They actually want to know how much I will be earning but don’t want to make it look obvious. They ask “The tcs/infy/cts pay is blah blah blah,is yours comparable??” Then I’m like ” yeah don’t worry..”, But they still plough on and say ” I want you to choose the correct one.. you see wrong decisions can…” before they finish I either give them a blank look or openly tell them I can take care of myself. What do these guys think?? I can’t do math?? or I can’t see that they are doing math?? well you never can help them. There is another question that I’m very accustomed to these days. When I say that I’m a veggie and I (almost) don’t eat non veg. The next question is The next ย  “Are you a brahmin??” Well and I say “yes”. There are a few gentlemen and ladies who leave it here. There are those who want to know if I have ever broken my supposed tradition and touched meat. Then there are those who ask me ” Do you atleast eggs??” When I tell them “yes occasionally” the next question that comes pronto is whether my parents approve of this? I ask hell what is there problem man?? I might eat egg, frogs, even smoke pot. What is their problem if life??I know people whom I have met for the first time in a common party who will want to know everything about other people’s life including how much phone balance you have.I once met a guy who actually took my mobile the day I met him to go through the contacts :P. I know how do even get along with these people?? Well I’m going to stop now. Thereย has been a very common complaint from a lot of my friends that my blogs are big. There will be “In the presence of Enemies Part II” for more of these.

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “In The Presence Of Enemies Part I

  1. amulya

    hmm..i wudnt agree with living “in the presence of enemies” for sure….
    as in..c’mon every one is curious to now what others are doing..i m sure even u wud have surely asked ppl about things which they wud hav thot to be purely their buisness!!
    its how look at it! ur “bread” n and u being a “veggie” might be sensitive issue for u(and many more i m sure!) bt the u must just look beyond…at sum level u wanna be appriciated for ur work…u wanna prove u r worthy!! and how will ppl know if they dont ask ye…its one of the traits of being a human being…. i understand that sum ppl can get a lil pushy makin it a lil more obvious n loud bt i guess its okay!! thats wat makes tis society! look at the positive side, we geta comment n talk about it, fills ur blog!! wat say!! lookin fwd ta “in the presence of enemies part 2” ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Well that has been the most thoughtful comment ever. Thanks :). Well people just should know where to draw the line ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. amulya

    yeah dont v make it quite clear with our sarcasm??
    or with “its one of ur buisness” face??
    ppl will not quit watsoever and neither will we ๐Ÿ™‚ haha

  4. ray

    Hi ,

    I was reading ur blog posts and found some of them to be wow.. u write well.. Why don’t you popularize it more.. ur posts on ur blog โ€˜Lets seeโ€ฆ.Lets seeโ€ฆ.โ€™ took my particular attention as some of them are interesting topics of mine too;

    BTW I help out some ex-IIMA guys who with another batch mate run http://www.rambhai.com where you can post links to your most loved blog-posts. Rambhai was the chaiwala at IIMA and it is a site where users can themselves share links to blog posts etc and other can find and vote on them. The best make it to the homepage!

    This way you can reach out to rambhai readers some of whom could become your ardent fans.. who knows.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Cheers,

  5. @ amulya
    Isn’t it we the people?? Solemnly resolve to…..
    @ray
    I blog, therefore I am. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Rik

    Asshole… Is it going to be repentance or stream of consicousness next??

  7. lets see…. lets see… you never know what the future holds ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Maya

    lets see! lets see!

  9. Maya

    Btw SPELLINGS!

  10. sorry… will activate spell chk the next time ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Ajay

    i couldnt agree more with u man …. nd tht ” hav u atleast had eggs “part …. i guess every veggie has to go through it … some people really dnt understand some things are best left as secrets …. the best response would b to give angelic smile of chastity nd leave it to tht

  12. all hail ajay…. all hail ajay….all hail ajay ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. you will learn to handle such questions as you move on…there’s more coming like ‘ aren’t you married yet!!!?. guess you haven’t come across this question so far ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. oh my gawd….I’m just a little boy from a little town. all that’s loong way down.

  15. As you get older you will get used to these questions. React whichever way you want to, we Indians are inquisitive people and will never stop asking questions, relevant or irrelevant.

  16. There’s only one way to handle these questions.

    Shock ’em.

    If someone asks you if you’re a veggie, tell ’em that you absolutely love to have bacon for breakfast. Most “non vegetarians” don’t go beyond chicken and mutton – everything else is forbidden! Tell ’em you love ham, and watch their eyes bug out. If it’s a tambram at the other end, he/she’ll probably run off to have a ritual purificatory bath.

    The other tactic is parrying the thrust. The next time someone asks you about how much your job pays you, you can always tell ’em “enough for me to get by”. If they get into specifics, like “TCS pays so much” you can always bug *your* eyes out and say “Really? I didn’t know they paid so much! You lucky ****”.

    Indians might be inquisitive people – but there’s no time like the present to teach our countrymen and women good manners.

    I’m not really young, and I really do get pissed when people ask dumb**** questions. I just looooooove pissing improperly inquisitive people off ๐Ÿ™‚ The best time was when I was in a train, and the silly old fart sitting next to me wanted to know why I was poring over Oppenheim’s Signals and Systems – if I’d had an arrear, or some such thing. Oh boy, did I enjoy pissing him off ๐Ÿ™‚ Ennappa padikkare? Uh, ennoda jadhagam. And so on. But that’s a story for another day.

  17. K.. K… thou art the man…..All hail K *the man*

Leave a Reply

